

The County & District Clerks' Association of Texas Special Board of Directors Meeting Meeting Date: March 29, 2022, Virtual **MINUTES**

- 1. Call to Order Lisa Johnson, CDCAT President at 11:03 am.
- 2. Invocation Patti Henry, Vice-President
- 3. Pledges to the American and Texas Flags Julie Smith, Treasurer
- 4. Roll Call Velva Price, Secretary

Officers: President – Lisa Johnson, Hemphill County Combo Clerk

Vice President – Patti Henry, Chambers County District Clerk

Treasurer – Julie Smith, Potter County Clerk

Secretary – Velva Price, Travis County District Clerk

Immediate Past President – Stacey Kemp, Collin County Clerk

Board Members:

Director

- Melissa Mead, Hartley County Comb Clerk Region I
- Region II 🛛 Kim Carter, Terry District Clerk

Region III 🛛 Tammy Robinson, Taylor County District Clerk

- Region IV * Mary Ann Gonzalez, Schleicher Co. Combo Clerk
- Region V 🛛 Cathy Jentho, Eastland County Clerk
- Region VI 🛛 Laura Hughes, Kaufman County Clerk

Region VII 🛛 Bobbye Christopher, Polk County District Clerk

Region VIII X J.C. Perez, III Jim Wells County Clerk

Director in Charge

Brenda McKanna, Moore County Clerk Paige Lindsey, Terry County Clerk

Alison Haley, Midland County Clerk - excused

Dawn Lantz, Kerr County District Clerk

Tessa Culverhouse, Eastland Co. District Clerk *Terri Willard, Rusk County District Clerk

*Donece Gregory, Tyler County Clerk

*Anne Lorentzen, Nueces County District Clerk Parliamentarian - Karren Winter, Archer County Clerk

QUORUM PRESENT

*Absent

Guests in Attendance:

Karen Gladney, CDCAT Legal Counsel Luz Hinojosa, TAC Sam Burke, TAC Laura Hinojosa, Hidalgo County District Clerk Whitney Moseley, Chambers County Deputy District Clerk 5. Accept Letter of Resignation from CDCAT President, Lisa Johnson:

Lisa Johnson, President read her resignation letter, attached.

Motion to accept resignation with regret by Brenda McKanna

2nd by J.C. Perez with much regret also.

Motion Carried, None opposed.

6. Discussion, consideration, and appointment of Interim President:

Karen Gladney, CDCAT Legal Counsel gave opinion that the by-laws require the BOD must fill the position vacated by Lisa Johnson and cannot leave it empty or open.

Patti Henry stated that the Executive Board recommends Stacey Kemp, Immediate Past President to fill the remainder of President, Lisa Johnson's term.

Motion by Dawn Lantz, 2nd by Cathy Jentho to follow Executive Boards recommendation.

Motion Carried, none opposed.

Patti Henry stated that since the Past President position was vacant, the Executive Board recommends appointing Laura Hinojosa as Immediate Past President for the remainder of Stacey Kemp's term.

Motion by Cathy Jentho, 2nd by Brenda McKanna to follow the Executive BOD's recommendation.

Motion Carried, none opposed.

Lisa Johnson stated she would also resign from the Texas Association of Counties BOD, resignation letter attached. Stacey Kemp will fill that position.

Patti Henry requested that Lisa Johnson consider attending the summer conference to speak to the members in person.

7. Adjourn

Motion by J.C. Perez, 2nd by Brenda McKanna

Adjourned at 11:21 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Velva Price Travis County District Clerk CDCAT Secretary