

THE COUNTY & DISTRICT CLERKS' ASSOCIATION OF TEXAS BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING Isla Grand Beach Resort, South Padre, Texas Meeting Date: June 29, 2017, 8:00 a.m.

Meeting Minutes

1. CALL TO ORDER

President Tammy Kneuper called the Board of Directors meeting of The County and District Clerks' Association of Texas to order at 8:03 a.m., June 29, 2017.

2. INVOCATION AND PLEDGES TO THE AMERICAN FLAG AND THE TEXAS FLAG

The Invocation was led by Diane Hoefling, Moore County District Clerk. The Pledges to the American Flag and the Texas Flag were led by President Tammy Kneuper, Bandera County District Clerk.

3. ROLL CALL

Roll call was done by Stacey Kemp, Secretary and marked the following present:

Officers

President - Tammy Kneuper, District Clerk, Bandera County

Vice President - Jennifer Lindenzweig, County Clerk, Hunt County

Treasurer – Laura Hinojosa, District Clerk, Hidalgo County

Secretary – Stacey Kemp, County Clerk, Collin County

Immediate Past President – Celeste Bichsel, County & District Clerk, Carson County

Board Members

Director in Charge Director Region I Renee Calhoun, County Clerk, Randall Co. Diane Hoefling, District Clerk, Moore Co. **Region II** Susan Tipton, County Clerk, Lynn Co. Cheri Hawkins Combo Clerk, Shackelford Co. **Region III** Linda Haney, County Clerk, Ector Co. V Judy Crawford, Combo Clerk, Crane Co. Liz Gonzalez, County Clerk, Hays Co. Beverly Crumley, District Clerk, Hays Co. Region IV Son Gimble, District Clerk, McLennan Co. Andy Harwell, County Clerk, McLennan Co. Region V Loretta Cammack, District Clerk, Nacogdoches Co 🛛 Sherry Dowd, County Clerk, Navarro Co. **Region VI**

Meeting Minutes CDCAT Board of Directors June 29, 2017 Page **1** of **3** Region VII 🛛 Lisa Teinert, District Clerk, Lee Co.

Schelana Hock, County Clerk, Polk Co.

Region VIII 🛛 Mirella Escamilla-Davis, County Clerk, Bee Co. 🛛 🔀 Esther Degolla

e Co. 🛛 🖂 Esther Degollado, District Clerk, Webb Co.

Parliamentarian-Barbara Sucsy, District Clerk, Lubbock County

A quorum was present and announced to Tammy Kneuper. (Attachment A).

4. WELCOME NEW BOARD MEMBERS

Tammy Kneuper welcomed new Board members Stacey Kemp, Collin County Clerk, as Secretary, and Barbara Sucsy, Lubbock County District Clerk, as Parliamentarian. No Action Taken.

5. CONFERENCE UPDATE, SOUTH PADRE-JUNE 25-29, 2017, CAMERON COUNTY AND DISTRICT CLERK

Sylvia Garza-Perez, Cameron County Clerk, gave an update for the 2017 Summer Conference wrap-up. Total registration for the conference was 321; approximately 425 attended Sunday's iDocket reception; 325 attended the President's Reception; and approximately 317 attended the banquet. Sylvia is still waiting on a final count for total plates served at the banquet. When this information becomes available she will forward it to the Board. No Action Taken.

6. DISCUSSION/ACTION-APPROVAL, Treasurer's bond for Laura Hinojosa (Attachment B).

Laura Hinojosa requested approval for her bond as Treasurer for 2017-2018. Jennifer Lindenzweig stated that she reviewed the bond and after changes had been made it was acceptable and ready for the Board's approval. Linda Haney made a motion to approve the bond for Laura Hinojosa in the amount of \$100,000 for the position of Treasurer. Sherry Dowd seconded the motion. None opposed, motion carried.

7. DISCUSSION/ACTION-Remove Celeste Bichsel, Past President and Jennifer Lindenzweig from the Edward Jones account and authorize Tammy Kneuper, President and Laura Hinojosa, Treasurer to sign on account.

Liz Gonzalez made a motion to remove Celeste Bichsel and Jennifer Lindenzweig from the Edward Jones account, and authorize Tammy Kneuper and Laura Hinojosa to sign on the account. The motion was seconded by Judy Crawford. None opposed, motion carried.

8. DISCUSSION/ACTION-Add the new Secretary, Stacey Kemp along with the other Executive Board members to use and sign a Credit/Debit Card on the Edward Jones checking account.

Diane Hoefling made a motion to authorize Stacey Kemp to use and sign a credit/debit card on the Edward Jones checking account. The motion was seconded by Renee Calhoun. None opposed, motion carried.

9. FUTURE BUSINESS AND AGENDA ITEMS

- a) The previous Board of Directors, during an earlier meeting, amended the 2017-2018 budget to include a line item for Sales and Use Tax credits and deposits in the amount of \$1,000.
- b) Tammy Kneuper asked the Board for discussion regarding reimbursing the daughter of Diane Hoefling for her hotel room during her visit to see Diane accept the District Clerk of the Year award. Because this type of reimbursement has not been provided by the Association in the past the Board did not want to set a precedent.

Meeting Minutes CDCAT Board of Directors June 29, 2017 Page **2** of **3** After a brief discussion, it was decided to allow a one-time payment because Diane's daughter had the expectation that her room would be paid for by the Association.

Loretta Cammack made a motion to reimburse the cost of the hotel room in the amount of \$186.04 with the understanding that the Association will not reimburse a family member who comes in for the Clerk of the Year presentation in the future. The motion was seconded by Liz Gonzalez. None opposed, motion carried.

Laura Hinojosa and Diane Hoefling abstained from the vote.

c) Tammy announced that the theme she chose for the upcoming year would be "Leading the Way. What is Your Destination?"

ADJOURN

There being no further business of the Board, Diane Hoefling made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded by Jennifer Lindenzweig and with none opposed the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 8:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stacey Kemp, Collin County Clerk-Secretary

Meeting Minutes CDCAT Board of Directors June 29, 2017 Page **3** of **3**